A Message that should be shared

Guest Dabeagle

Guest Dabeagle

Copied from my FB

Letter from a Shelter Director:

" You can't keep your pet? Really? " ~By a Shelter Director

... Our society needs a huge "Wake-up" call.

As a shelter manager, I am going to share

a little insight with you all...

a "view from the inside" - if you will.

First off, any of you whom have surrendered a pet

to a shelter or humane society should be made to work

in the "back" of an animal shelter - for just ONE DAY.

Maybe if you saw the life drain from those sad,

lost, confused eyes, you'd stop

and help these animals find homes.

That puppy you just dropped off will most likely end up

in my shelter when it's no longer a cute little puppy anymore.

Just so you know, there's a 90% chance that your dog will never

walk back out, once entered into the shelter system...

Purebred or not!

About 25% of all of the dogs that are "owner surrenders" or "strays"

that come into a shelter are 'purebred' dogs.

The most common excuses: "We're moving and can't take our dog (or cat)."

Really? Where (& why) are you moving to a place that doesn't allow pets?

... Or they say "The dog got bigger than we thought it would". How big did you think a German Shepherd would get? ... "We don't have time for her". Really? I work a 10-12 hour day & still have time for ALL my dogs! ...."She's tearing up our yard". How about learning proper exercise & leadership & making her a part of your family?

..... "We just don't want to have to stress about finding a place for her -- & we know she'll get adopted.... she's a good dog".

Odds are, your pet will NOT get adopted ... & how stressful do you think it is for your pet to be dumped by the ppl she trusted in a noisy, stressful shelter?

Did you know...