Why it's so difficult to get schools to deal with bullies

A forum I frequent was discussing bullies and bullying, and the difficulty so many parents, and kids, seem to be having getting schools to do something, or even recognize, that the bullying is happening.

The user WE_Coyote, who identifies as someone who studied school administration in graduate school, offered the following insights, which I thought was very interesting:

Maybe I can offer a little insight. I studied school administration in graduate school. It comes down to issues of student rights, liability, lawsuits and optics.

Student Rights

Up until the early 90's it was relatively easy for school administrators to deal with bullies by means of suspensions and expulsion for continual behavior. Then the lawyers started getting involved and started suing school districts and principals. They argued, among other things, that even violent students still had a right to an education and that out-of-school suspension/expulsion deprived them of that right. They also argued that because they are public school students the rights to procedural due process applied to them. The courts agreed with these and other arguments. The result was that it became exponentially more difficult to suspend/expel a student. For instance, in most cases it can take up to a year or more to expel a student from an individual campus due to the various procedures and hearings that have to be held in order to comply with the right to procedural due process and if the district loses the case they are on the hook not only for their legal expenses but also the expenses of the student.

Liability & Lawsuits