Thirty-two Faces by Kevinchn

The Prologue and first chapter of a new story by an author new to me, Kevinchn, is up.

http://awesomedude.com/kevinchn/thirty-two-faces/index.htm

It's a great story, told from the point of view of an autistic younger brother and so far focussing on his relationship with his older brother and how that changes after the older one goes away to college. The story is doing a good job of putting the reader inside the very different mind of an autistic person and making that experience empathetic, I'm looking forward to reading more.

In chapter one, he's developed a crush on his brother, which fills me with trepidation, I can't see any way that this plotline can end well. I hope the author can!

There doesn't seem yet to be an Author page for Kevinchn here at AD, if he's new here and not just new to me, may I bid him a very hearty welcome?!

This is a story that has impressed me greatly. I have some experience with autism, and the characterisations in this story are, to me, spot on. It's extremely challenging because, as he's shown so far, someone with autism thinks differently to the 'neurotypical' (those without autism). I'm looking forward to the rest of the story.

PS: The presentation is great, too. Thanks to the staff at AD for the fantastic formatting. :smile:

Well done Kevin, and welcome indeed. I come from a part of industry where some touch of autism was relatively common. If you can get across to people how difficult it is for autistic people to appear "normal" , how hard they have to work at it and how fragile their world is then you will have achieved much more than simply written a beautiful and skillfully crafted story... As I said, welcome and well done.

Jeff (one of the A-team)

• 3 weeks later...