Recollections

Are you looking for feedback on this? I know I've read it somewhere else, some weeks ago.

The glaring contradiction in the first paragraph is disturbing to me. "I had no choice..." and "My other option was..."

The whole thing doesn't strike me so much as a literary work, but as a rambling of thoughts and feelings told in a sort of reminescing style. There are awkward phrasings, but it feels kinda 'chummy'. :)

Yes...feedback is exactly what Im looking for....you probably read it at Codey's World. The reason I postedit here was for some critism. I'm trying to change my style a little bit, and this is my first try at something different from what I normally write. Anyway, thanks for the info and I'll look into what you said...anyone else???

I need to read this carefully at a later date, but I've got two comments to make on the presentation:

1. The blue on black/grey background is hard on the eyes. I highlighted the post to make it blue on white before I could comfortably read it.

2. The lack of break between paragraphs also made it harder to read. If you don't use a break, try to indent the first line (which I don't think you can do in the forum, so it may be a posting issue that you can't control).

They aren't major things, but it can be the difference between someone reading it, and someone deciding it looks too much like hard work and moving on.

Just my opinion, of course

Graeme :icon10:

I must have been imagining the blue.... :icon10:

Okay, onto some comments.

The short story has a lot of potential as a commentary on families. You've got the narrator and Taylor (gay couple), the grandparents (divorced/separated couple, with the complications that caused, and also how the nature of the two was more complex than a simple picture could portray), and James (part of the extended family). That may not be the theme you intended, but that was the impression I got.