Two female sailors share 1st Kiss

DKStories

My husband forwarded this link to me today and it's worth reading:

http://www.sacbee.com/2011/12/21/4137957/2-women-share-1st-kiss-at-us-navy.html

As a navy veteran, I can tell you that the Navy is full of traditions. Some are gross, some are boring, and some are downright sickening (yuck! I hate cremated ashes getting in my mouth during a burial at sea!). Most have some good foundations, and the traditions focused around a ship pulling into home port after a long deployment are some of the most poignant.

Sailors who had children born while on deployment get to see their new child for the first time.

Estranged loved ones are reunited..

While I was in the service, one of the traditions was the playing of a song over the ship's loudspeakers as we approached the pier. The night before we pulled in following our deployment to Operation Desert Storn, the crew chose "Mama, I'm Coming Home" by Ozzie Osbourne. The next day as we pulled in towards the pier, the loudspeakers blared out Neil Diamond's "Coming to America"

What happened? The Evangelican Christian Captain and Evangelical Christian Executive Officer refused to have 'a song by a satanist' played on their ship.

Now with that in mind, look at the linked article. Two female sailors won, in a lottery, the right to be the first couple reunited after the deployment. This has been a tradition in the United States Navy for decades, if not longer. Now lesbian and gay couples are a part of that tradition. No longer are they hidden, separate, unequal.