AwesomeDude turns Eight Today!

dude

Ahem… unaccustomed as I am to public speaking, let me beg a few moments of your time to mark the eighth anniversary of AwesomeDude.com.

Back in 2003/2004 the idea of starting a site for a small but talented group of authors of high quality gay fiction occurred to me.

Not being a gifted writer myself – other than writing my own news scripts for ABC Radio & TV and National Public Radio – I did enjoy reading really good stories about gay young people, especially upbeat and romantic stories. I suppose many of us adults read romantic gay fiction to compensate for the lack of romance in our closeted younger years.

Of course in those days it was hard to miss the Nifty Archives… the huge and ubiquitous site (which turned 20 this week) with hundreds and hundreds of stories of various genres and writers of varying degrees of skill and creativity. Yeah… it’s easy to dismiss Nifty as having a lot of awful stuff on it.. but there were also a number of great stories and authors.

There were also a number of good private sites… many run by authors to primarily showcase their own writing and some also posting stories by other selected writers. Some of the notable ones were Nick Archer, Dabeagle, DeweyWriter, The Glass Onion and Storm Nation.

I thought it would be fun to assemble a group of great writers, many of whom were posting at Nifty, and offer them a place to showcase their stories. I received encouragement from a number of folks I’d known from Nifty… WriteByMyself, Sequoyah, Nick Nurse, Keith Morrisette and Dave McMillan -to name a a few- and with a word borrowed from a character in the story Storm Nation… called the site ‘AwesomeDude.’

AwesomeDude, by the way, was also the nickname of my best friend Roger, who was not gay but was openly feline. I was never AwesomeDude.