Picking on an Editor and Author

Graeme (who I really, really like) -- I am going to pick on a sentence in the latest chapter of New Brother. This is not an attack on your or your editor. But I have to understand something.

You had a (very well done) scene of a beating. During which a certain character utters: I shrugged. ?Beats me.?

Now, in the middle of this serious scene I busted out laughing. The word "beat" was, to me, a very unfortunate choice.

If I was an editor, I'd have flagged that in bold and red with a comment about same. If I was an author, I don't think I'd intentionally use that word in that instance.

I am curious if this was a deliberate move or it just slipped in. It was just absurdly incongruous to me. As a reader, I should notice a word that much unless the author intends it. I realize kids talk like that. I'd probably say the same thing even but not in that particular situation.

Again, no offence meant but it just bugged me enough to say something because I actually 'fell out' of the story and had to analyze the whole bit.

Completely accidental, I assure you.

The phrase is a very common one that is used when you have no idea of the reason for something that has occured. The unintended link to the prior events in the chapter just didn't click.

Sorry. I'll have to take responsibility for that one. I can certainly imagine someone saying it, but as you have pointed out, realism has to be balanced with readability.

Having said that, I'm not changing it.... :p (subject to change without notice)

Graeme :D

Completely accidental, I assure you. The phrase is a very common one that is used when you have no idea of the reason for something that has occured. The unintended link to the prior events in the chapter just didn't click.

Sorry. I'll have to take responsibility for that one. I can certainly imagine someone saying it, but as you have pointed out, realism has to be balanced with readability.