A Question of Tense Within POV

Being a new writer, I think I need some advise. I'm writing my second novel and am following two main characters, so I've decided on third person. But the antagonist's story starts out 3 years before the protagonist's. I'm interspersing the stories (it's a drama thing, okay?), so that means when I'm talking about the antagonist, it's a different time period from the protagonist's and their times are slowly brought together, so when they meet (for their confrontation), the time line is now together.

I was thinking about using 3rd past for the antagonist's story as it's happening in the past, but using 3rd present for the protagonist's.

My problem is that I think 3rd present sounds hokey. I guess, I just don't like the way it sounds.

I'm considering on writing the whole thing in 3rd past, one, for consistency, and two, the reader might not have as much of a problem in transitioning back and forth, although, the idea of presenting the story from two different time periods might be reinforced by the shift in tense.

Any thoughts?

These situations are always difficult. But then again, they do offer the opportunity to explore ways to break some rules. :lol:

I understand you don't want to reveal your story yet, but without a general idea of the story situation, it is difficult to advise how you might best proceed.

It seems to me that for everyone who dislikes 3rd person there is someone else, who is put off by 1st person. Tense is similar, one or the other being the favoured flavour. Truth is, they all have the uses.

The 3rd person may give some leeway in being able to switch time periods, but 1st person can be utilised if the present character is telling the story after he comes to know about the past. This does present some difficulty for some readers, whilst others find it intriguing.

By coincidence I just saw this story by talkwriter at Nifty.