Special film, special story

Yes, I have come late to this subject, but I finally viewed the film Life of Pi last evening now that it is out on DVD. Who has time to go to the theater and watch a good film?

It’s understandable that the movie won awards, the direction and computer graphics were astounding, but as a writer I kept focusing on the story. I have not read the book by Yann Martel but if the movie follows a majority of his story then I understand why Ang Lee chose the work. I won’t spoil the story for you here, but just mention the plot devices that I found so attractive.

As any author knows, telling a tale in flashback is one of the more complicated ways to present the reader, or viewer, with the necessary facts of a story. From the moment Piscine Molitor Patel, nicknamed Pi, begins to tell his story we are presented with a wondrous tale almost too farfetched to believe.

It is in fact that belief which is challenged later in the plot and an alternative belief is presented to the audience. Not one flashback but two, and we are asked which one do we choose to believe. A hard choice considering the tremendous fantasy we have just observed.

So much of literature asks moral questions and points the reader towards an answer, Life of Pi does just the opposite. The character Pi is filled with beliefs in search of an answer. I don’t think there has been a story like this written in a long time; perhaps it is akin to Homer’s Odyssey where the famed Odysseus faces trials wrought by the gods before his journey ends.

Interesting that Odysseus translates from the Greek as “trouble.” Pi as a boy is viewed by his family as the embodiment of that word, but the viewer is presented with a bright articulate lad filled with questions about life. Pi is probably one of the best characters I have seen in a story for a long time.