Opinions Solicited

In the book I'm reading, I encountered the following, which I've altered only slightly to improve clarity without distorting the subject of this entry:

He didn't reply till they were driving. "School together" was what he said.

My query here is, is that correct punctuation? And, if not, how should it be punctuated? How would you write it, not changing a word but doing whatever you want with the punctuation?

This is written by a very eminent writer who has a great grasp of the language, so I suppose that should be taken into account. Still, I don't like it. I can think of a couple of ways to clean it up. How about you?

C

I'm no expert:

He didn't reply till they were driving, "School together," was what he said.

I'm not sure that I understand the context of the isolated, "School together," though. It has me in a quandary as to the context of what is being said, or is it being asked?

The punctuation I have used is standard Aussie rules and may differ from American English. (Now there's an oxymoron.) :lipssealed:

I think the original was punctuated correctly. The quoted part acts as the noun of the sentence. "Bullshit" was what he said demonstrates the same.

It does look odd, however.

How about: ...driving, and then he said, "school together."

or

...driving, Then, he said: "School together."

That's punctuated perfectly, except it entirely changes the meaning of the sentence. The last part isn't meant to be dialog.

C

Hence my quandary. I'm missing the context of the isolated phrase "School together" and that makes punctuation less than obvious. Perhaps "School together" is a common phrase in the U.S. that escapes me, and therefore, so does the meaning of the sentence.

If we make the phrase a question:

He didn't reply till they were driving. "School, together?" was what he said.

but then the "said" seems wrong. Again context is missing.