gay animals

That's a tough nut to crack.

OK, OK, sorry for the pun and the innuendo.

More seriously -- if you look a little bit, you can find anecdotes of homosexual behavior in other animal species (at least among mammals and birds). One of the most publicized recently has involved "gay penguins."

Uh-oh. "Homosexual behavior," that's carefully neutral and generalized. So that can mean:

[*]"gee, I'm really new at all this, sorta unsure what to do and confused, and it's my first ever breeding season, wanna experiment, buddy?"

[*]"hey, there weren't any others available, and it's breeding season, and I'm *really* in the mood, even if you're the same sex."

[*]"hey, guy or girl, it's all good, baby!"

[*]"I'd rather have the same sex, the other sex doesn't get my motor going."

Fine, up until now, that would apply to humans too.

*However,* I'm not sure that other animals feel things in the same way as humans do. They might be very similar or identical. But more likely, they're different in ways we don't quite know.

So it seems like it's too much of a generalization to apply the (recent) human designation of "gay" to how it's expressed (not quite the same) in animals.

It's either not that simple, or I'm making it more complicated than it is.

The example of a "gay horse" shows why we can't compare a human being gay to another species being gay. The horse's choices are up to the horse's owners. The human can make choices to improve his or her life.

It is not unusual for one horse to try to mount another, even when they are both male. It's a dominance thing -- part of establishing who is the head horse in the herd.

However, the implication is that a stallion will refuse to mount a mare because he's not interested. I haven't heard of that happening.