An unsure Editor

Kurt

Okay, i am an editor of a online story called It Feels Like Monday. I enjoy editing it, and I really like the author, he is a great guy. However, I think that I do a bad job at editing. I have talked to the Author about it some, but he told that I am doing fine. I am not really sure what I should do..?

Kurt

Editing covers the gamut from spelling and grammar mistakes all the way through to commenting on plot and assisting with story-flow. It is not common to be able to do that full spectrum well.

Why do you feel you're not a good editor?

If you think you need to be able to do everything, then don't. As you gain more experience you'll be able to expand what you do, but if the author is happy with what you are doing then that's the main thing. After all, it is the author who is putting their name to what is being posted.

The other thing is that editors range from minimalists who make the smallest number of necessary changes, to those that go through the whole document with copious amounts of red-pen (see the editing demos in this forum for examples of the two extremes). Both extremes are fine, because a lot depends on what the AUTHOR is looking for. Different editing styles suit different authors.

And I'll end by saying that I am NOT an editor and I sincerely doubt I'll ever have the required skills to be one. I definitely appreciate those that do.

Graeme :icon6:

Thank you for your reply Graeme.

I think that I am not a good editor because I know that I miss things while editing, and the only things that I am really able to do are spelling and grammar, but, I am not very good at doing that. Maybe it is just me being paranoid about my 'work.' I dunno.

Kurt

That's all a lot of authors ask for, so that's fine. Missing things is normal, too. I've seen typos and mistakes in printed novels, so professionals miss things, too.

As long as you pick up most of the things, and that you find yourself improving, then don't worry about it.