Why they worship the penis in Japan

Camy

Why they worship the penis in Japan

In the village of Komaki, 45 minutes from the central city of Nagoya, there is a shrine devoted to the phallus. Each spring, the old and young alike come here to see an enormous wooden penis carried through the streets, to eat penis shaped sweets, and to make a penis-spirited wish to god.

The tradition is thought to have begun around 1,500 years ago. A springtime celebration, the "penis festival", or Honen-sai Matsuri, is carried out to bring fertility and a good harvest to the people.

MORE

Thanks for that Camy.

It is obvious from a couple of the comments on the linked site that some people do not respect different cultural customs.

As for me I have never stopped worshipping the penis, that is why I am a writer, because I know the sword is not mightier than the pen_is.

I'm glad you posted this before Aussie Internet filter was activated, I bet this site gets blocked.

I am absolutely astounded that there is so much guilt associated with sex and genitalia. The human race has a long way to go.

Hooray for the penis worshippers. :hehe:

I know the sword is not mightier than the pen_is.

Oh, are you ever clever!

Coincidentally, I was at the local pool yesterday, and there were two Japanese fellows in the showers (which are large communal, not individual stalls) happily and unembarrassedly cleaning themselves. I have noticed that there is only about a 5% rate of doing this, with almost everyone opting for cleaning without removing their bathing trunks. Effectively, the norm is that the parts that probably need the cleaning the most don't get cleaned (we are supposed to do this before entering the pool so that the system isn't strained to deal with the skin borne contaminants).

And, before you ask, I am one of the 5% and I enjoy seeing the rest of the 5%. I'm not entirely sure if it is cultural, but I'm of Dutch heritage (born there), and the other naked showerer was Bulgarian.