Mirror Image

I hope you enjoy this small life lesson, and please feel free to correct any of my grammar and such. I'm still learning everyday, and it helps to get another eye on things I may have overlooked!

Thanks -

Spaz

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thomas stood outside the stereotypical family house. Its two story frame reached out against the blue sky. A porch swing gently swayed at a slight breeze in the Autumn air. The grass was cut in accordance to the neighborhoods standards. The hedges separating neighbor from neighbor were neatly trimmed. A concrete driveway lead up to a small garage where outside hung a basketball hoop. Parked in front of its massive door was the family sedan and minivan.

The nervous feeling overwhelmed him again, but he mustered up the courage and placed one tentative foot in front the other. Thomas slowly made his way up the driveway, following the foot path made for the family inside. The FAMILY inside. The one he could destroy. No matter, he made his way up the steps, finally stopping in front of the large oak door. Seconds passed as he stood there, staring at the front door. He finally made his arm raise, lift out a finger, and pressed the door bell.

Time slowed all around him. He heard and felt every breath, every heart beat. The world became a muffled mess of sounds. Inhale. Exhale. Birds chirping in a tree at the edge of the sidewalk. Inhale. Exhale. A dog barked behind a neighbors house. Inhale. Exhale. The porch swing creaked while swaying in the breeze. Inhale. Exhale. Footsteps behind the door. Inhale. Exhale. Leaves rustled in the distance. Inhale. Exhale. The door opened up. Inhale.