English all-boys school myth debunked...

http://www.pinknews....oarding-school/

I went to an all boys school until sixth grade, but we were all too young to have any conversation about homosexuality. But that was then and now things seem quite different. Perhaps the topic was treated differently in the upper school, but we never found out.

Sixteen is such a trying age, and to be gay must seem like the world presses a foot down on your neck demanding submission. Attitudes like this author expresses are not totally shocking, but completely disturbing. He must look forward to graduation like no other achievement is worth discussing. What a shame.

Watched the recent Bond movie Skyfall. There's a scene where bond is tied to a chair and the villain is stroking bond's chest and making gay innuendo. Eventually he says something to Bond about this being his first time. (i.e. with a man) and Bond's reply was "What makes you think this is my first time?"

In my mind, immediately, I responded to the screen, "Bond went to Eton. Of COURSE it's not his first time!"

Guess I bought into the myth.

That article was written by a 16-year-old who's been to one boarding school in Wales. I doubt his expertise in what he's talking about. Certainly he speaks from the heart about his own school. But to claim knowlege of all British all-male schools?

I don't know if they're bastions of male-male sexual congress, but I have to think some of that goes on, somewhere. Isn't this what Britain is famous for?

:redface:

C