Help request

I need a little imput.... Not having grown up all of my time in the US, can someone give me an idea of the typical types of drugs (illegal) used by preteen and teens. I used glue for a specific reason, but I was thinking more in line of recreational drugs. My cutoff age would be around 14.

Thanks in advance.

Even though I have no real experience in this, I can give a partial answer.

American kids (pre-teens and teens) do get into several things. Aside from alcohol or tobacco, many kids find access to marijuana. There are things like XTC and Rohypnol (spelling?) that kids need to avoid at clubs and raves and dating. Or they'll abuse prescription or over the counter medications. Inhalants (spray cans, glue, etc.) are problems. (Glue and other inhalants are severe problems in Latin American countries.) Kids can gain access to harder, more dangerous drugs too, especially in big cities.

Really, it is pretty much the same here in America and Canada as it is in any major city in France or in Latin American countries. The drug problem is mostly the same. The reasons the kids do them are pretty much the same, whether they are middle class suburban or city kids, or upper class with time and money and lack of supervision, or poor / working class and trying to get by however they can.

One of my best high school teachers was a former drug addict. One of my college roommates had been a teenage alcoholic, recovering. This didn't make them "bad" people. In fact, I think they were stronger because they had learned to overcome it.

Some kids experiment and don't like it. (I don't like the taste of alcohol and I really don't like the feeling of loss of control. ;) ) Drugs have never appealed to me. I was sick (cold, flu, etc.) a lot as a kid in winter, and so drugs never were something I wanted to get into.