Translate from Millennial in Boomer Please

What does it mean when a young person today says, "Word." Just, "Word." They are not referring to the program, but something I don't understand, but want to. I feel so dreadfully out of it.

(By the way, the title of this post should read "Translate from Millennial TO Boomer. Sorry. I suppose, being a writer, I should consider occasionally proofreading my comments before hitting the POST button).

Urban Dictionary has it pretty well nailed, though I'm not sure about the origin explanation offered. (shortened form of 'my word is my bond')

It's much older than the millennials. Late 80s at least, though it's heyday was the late 90s. Nowadays it's often used as a parody, the same way we might parody the seventies by saying 'groovy' at inappropriate times.

Lug- LOLOL!

Thank you everyone. I keep forgetting that there's this wonderful new thing called the Internets or the Interwebs or whatever it was that W used to call it and I can actually look these things up, although I am quite impressed with Cole Parker's grasp of the groovy. I may turn to him first in the future when I need the younger generations explained to me! :-) And, thanks Nick and Steven. I am bookmarking the Urban Dictionary on my browser.

We hear it as "word up" and not as the single word unless it's a question "word?" meaning "do you give me your word that it's true?"

Heard on BART going into San Francisco:

"Donna is preggers, and she's gonna quit school and have the kid."

"Word?"

"Word up!"

"Dumb up," as far as I'm concerned.

Colin :icon_geek:

We hear it as "word up" and not as the single word unless it's a question "word?" meaning "do you give me your word that it's true?"

Heard on BART going into San Francisco:

"Donna is preggers, and she's gonna quit school and have the kid."

"Word?"

"Word up!"

"Dumb up," as far as I'm concerned.

Slang is slang, not degeneracy. Every generation has its own.