Help with Contemporary American Slang

I am going out on a limb and trying something I have never done before. I have begun outlining a story that doesn't take place forty years ago, in the antediluvian era before personal computers, the Internet, and smart phones, but <gasp> today. I have never tried this before because I am such a dinosaur and have little contact with contemporary youth culture. The youngest gay person I know in real life is my 48 year-old lesbian sister, so if it doesn't involve softball and woodworking, she's not much help. So...

I need some help with contemporary slang. I know slang changes overnight and that once something becomes ubiquitous, it is no longer cool--is "cool" still used? I can't, much as I try, watch MTV for more than ten seconds, so...

What are the terms for "cool?" I am sure no one says "righteous" or "radical" anymore. :-)

What is the contemporary term for uncool, bogus?

And, though I am writing a very sexually-sanitized story with no actual scenes described in blood-curdling detail, I am sure that certain things will come up in conversation among twelve and thirteen year-old boys. What terms today would be used instead of-- excuse me-- boners, jacking off, and dicks? I hesitate to rely on the more graphic stories on other sites as references as I am not entirely convinced about their veracity.

Is there anything else that I might need for veracity, anything that I should avoid?

Oh, and my protagonist desperately tries to emulate in his styles Chris Colfer on Glee (the gay geek look) . Is this accurate for a boy at a relatively progressive school in the Midwest?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

You really are a masochist, FT. Delving into the world of slang used by the youth of today is a minefield for anyone over 30.

http://www.thesource...Dictionary.aspx