Help The Damned Raccoon

I want to write a new novel. That's what writers do. Me, I'm a writer. Or so I've been told :)

Only I'm not sure about what.

There will be at least one teenager in it, because, well, that's what I want to write about. But that's a bit too general. I'm not sure what I want to write about.

It doesn't have to be gay or have any sex. That's just a detail. I'm not sure if I want dark or happy. I just don't know. Please, feel free to throw ideas down and see if they stick.

I'm sure someone will throw down an idea and I'll go "Yeah. That's it!"

I think whatever it is will be an epic. My current record is 94,000 words (Alone with Myself). I think I want to top that monstrosity and go for triple digits.

I've always said I wanted to do a murder mystery but when I get right down to it, no I really don't. Epic Fantasy maybe? Help out an old raccoon. Post here, send me an e-mail, a PM, or find me on MSN/YIM/AIM.

This is also posted at CW: http://www.codeysworld.com/forum/viewtopic...?f=5&t=1627

I'd say something about a teenager kinda down on his luck that eventually finds someone who understands him, but something happens along the way that changes things be it near death, attempted suicide, but he finds something worth living for waiting for him once things level off.

Not necessarily dark, light or anything. Could be happy or not so happy. Where do you want it to go? Where do you want it to start?

How about a modern theme? Mom and Dad are recently unemployed due the recession. Money is tight. Kid wants to quit school to find a job to help them make ends meet.

Maybe the kid gets the money, but it turns out to have more repercussions than he anticipated. Not necessarily drugs or prostitution.

A lot would depend on your approach: realism vs. fantasy vs. sci-fi vs. melodrama.